The Droitwich Barge Canal opened in 1771.
Built by James Brindley, to serve Droitwich Spa town's salt trade, it linked the centre of Droitwich with the nearby River Severn. In 1854 the Droitwich Junction Canal was constructed to link the town with the Worcester & Birmingham Canal at Hanbury Wharf.
This was amongst the last canals to be built in England. As the salt trade declined, the owners abandoned the canals. The Droitwich Canals Abandonment Act was passed of parliament in 1939 and the canals fell into disuse.
In 2011, the Droitwich canals reopened. The Droitwich canals link the River Severn and the Worcester and Birmingham Canal which together, make up the Mid-Worcestershire ring. The ring allows boats, cyclists and walkers to make a 21-mile circular journey. The terrain alongside the ring is excellent for all ages to walk or cycle and experience the Worcestershire countryside.
For visitors arriving by boat there are 48 hour moorings, water points and rubbish disposal facilities at Netherwich Basin, close to Vines Park. The town centre is a short walk away. For other visitors there are car parks, bus stops and the train station nearby, making the town a perfect base to explore the local canal network.
Look out for the audio trail along the Droitwich Canals available from www.waterscape.com/droitwich